About Uganda

Set at the equator and popularly known as the "Pearl of Africa", Uganda is bordered on the east by Kenya, on the north by South Sudan, on the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, on the southwest by Rwanda, and on the south by Tanzania. It is made up of four regions (central, eastern, northern and western) on an area of 236,580 sq km.

Uganda has long been a cultural melting pot, as evidenced by the existence of more than 30 different indigenous languages belonging to five distinct linguistic groups, and an equally diverse cultural mosaic of music, art and handicrafts. The country boasts a temperate climate, even though a bulk of its area is in the tropics with varying temperatures of 16 - 26°C (April - November), and over 30°C during warmer seasons (December - March).

It also harbours the world's second largest lake, Lake Victoria, and the source of the world's second longest river, The Nile.

The bustling capital city, Kampala, is home to an array of shops, restaurants and leisure facilities to accommodate every lifestyle. Consistently ranked among Africa’s fastest growing economies since 1986, Uganda has experienced a steady expansion of infrastructure and a corresponding increase in tourism earnings.

Bukoto, where Kampala International School is situated, is a vibrant area with a mix of modern shopping and recreational facilities, including the nearby Kabira Country Club. It is bordered by the affluent suburbs of Ntinda to the east, Naguru to the southeast and Kololo to the south and is just 6km from Kampala’s central business district.

Major Holidays include:

  • New Year's Day 1 January.
  • NRM Liberation Day 26 January.
  • Easter Sunday, Good Friday: March - April.
  • Martyrs' Day 3 June.
  • Heroes Day 9 June.
  • Independence Day 9 October.
  • Christmas Day 25 December.
  • Boxing Day: 26 December.